Election 2017 | Big winners, losers in governorship races

1 min read

Five senators are on course to becoming governors while six others are seemingly headed for a loss, according to provisional results from the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

Barring major shifts in provisional results, Meru Senator Kiraitu Murungi (Jubilee) will be the county’s next governor.

With 96 per cent of the votes counted, the senator has 278,383 votes (53 per cent) compared to incumbent Governor Peter Munya’s 230,618 (43 per cent).


With 91 per cent of votes counted in West Pokot County, Senator John Lonyangapuo (Kanu) is set to trounce incumbent Governor Simon Kachapin Kitalei (Jubilee) who had defected from Kanu and leads with a margin of 15 per cent of the valid votes cast.

According to the provisional results, the senator has 83,813 votes (57 per cent) compared to Mr Kitalei’s 61,12 6(42 per cent).

Nandi Senator Stephen Sang (Jubilee) is set to become the next governor based on 96 per cent of the valid votes counted in the county.


The incumbent, Dr Cleophas Lagat Kiprop, opted out of the race and pledged to support Mr Sang after losing in the party nominations.

Mr Sang currently leads with 241,858 votes (91pc). His nearest challenger is Anderson Serem with 13,075 votes (4pc).


With 94 per cent of the votes counted in Nairobi County, Senator Mike Sonko Mbuvi (Jubilee) is projected to be the capital city’s second governor, having garnered 836,502 votes (53 per cent).

The incumbent, Dr Evans Kidero (ODM), is second with 670,321 votes (42 per cent).

With 94 per cent of the votes tallied, Kisumu Senator Anyang’ Nyong’o (ODM) is leading the county’s gubernatorial race with 263,995 votes (63 per cent), followed by incumbent Governor Jackton Ranguma at 150,571 votes (35 per cent).


Six other senators who are gubernatorial candidates have not been as lucky.

Mombasa Senator Hassan Omar (Wiper) is trailing in third place, with 43,382 votes (12 per cent), with 99 per cent of the votes having being counted.

Incumbent Governor Hassan Ali Joho (ODM) is leading with 219,240 votes (65 per cent) followed by Suleiman Said Shahbal (Jubilee) who has 69,042 votes (20 per cent).


With 97 per cent of votes counted, Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale (Ford-Kenya) is running second to incumbent Governor Wycliffe Ambetsa Oparanya.

Dr Khalwale has 132,788 (25 per cent) votes while Mr Oparanya has 380,649 votes (71 per cent).

With 89 per cent of the votes tallied, Kisii Senator Christopher Obure (Jubilee), who had defected from ODM, is at 108,827 votes (28 per cent), behind incumbent Governor James Ongwae (ODM) who leads with 201,362 votes (51 per cent).


Turkana Senator John Munyes (Jubilee), who defected from Ford-Kenya, is running second in Turkana, with 52,541 votes (42 per cent) and 96 per cent of the votes counted.

Incumbent Governor Josphat Nanok (ODM) is leading with 71,153 votes (58 per cent).


With 97 per cent of the votes counted, Nakuru Senator James Mungai, running as an independent candidate, is coming fourth in the gubernatorial race with 9,202 votes (one per cent).

Former National Transport Safety Authority (NTSA) Chairman Lee Maiyani Kinyanjui (Jubilee) is leading with 614,987 votes (85 per cent).

Kitui Senator David Musila, running as an independent candidate in Kitui, is second with 109, 690 votes.


With 99 per cent of the votes in, former Lands Cabinet Secretary Charity Kaluki Ngilu, running on a National Rainbow Coalition (Narc) ticket, is projected to win, having already received 167,721 votes.

With 99.86 per cent of votes in Embu County already tallied, Embu Senator Lenny Kivuti (Maendeleo Chap Chap), is currently second with 96,597 votes (39 per cent), as the incumbent, Martin Wambora (Jubilee), leads narrowly with 97,544 votes (40 per cent).

Comments (0)

Leave a Comment

Type the above code here

Read Next

Official Kipsamumgut Vocational Training Centre Contacts, Courses ,intakes ,fee structures and Location 2018

1 min read

Official kipsamumgut vocational training centre contacts p.o. box 651-20200 kerichocourses offered at kipsamumgut vocational training centre 1. grade iii-ii in masonry (nita)for a maximum of 50 trai...

Continue reading

Sky Garden Kenya Login

4 min read

Sky garden tvsky garden kenyasky garden phonessky garden furnituresky garden seller centersky garden kenya locationsky garden electronicssky garden online shoppingsky garden kenyasky.garden: online sh...

Continue reading

Kenya News Agency branches jobs internships

1 min read

Kenya news agency branches a day here i start with first searching for a news story.once i get it i write it down first then type it and forward it to my manager via e-mail.-i have learnt how to...

Continue reading

Stawi Personal loans 1.0 APK Download now

1 min read

Stawi is a digital credit product for small and micro entrepreneurs. as a business person you get an account for your digitized business operations and most importantly, access to business loans to he...

Continue reading

Tendering in Kenya- Seven (7) tips to prepare a winning tender bid 2018

4 min read

  tendering in kenya- seven (7) tips to prepare a winning tender bid  tenders are one of the major business to business (b2b) contracting processes in kenya. the main objective of...

Continue reading

Official Don Bosco Boys Technical Training Centre Contacts, Courses ,intakes ,fee structures and Location 2018

1 min read

Official don bosco boys technical training centre contacts p.o box 24236-00502 karencourses offered at don bosco boys technical training centre1.grade iii-i in art & craft (nita ) for maximum of...

Continue reading