Comprehensive List of “New” Cabinet Secretaries Announced by Uhuru Kenyatta

1 min read

“The big four will help people create jobs, to new lives of comfort and well being. That is the big life I have foreseen,” he noted during the 54th Jamhuri Celebrations.

The Cabinet of Kenya is made up of the President, Deputy President, Attorney General and Cabinet Secretaries. The 2010 Constitution of Kenya allows a maximum of 22 ministries. A Cabinet Secretary is not a Member of the Kenyan Parliament and has to be vetted by a parliamentary committee before their appointment.


Here is the list announced by the President:

  1. Ministry of Education – Amina Mohamed
  2. Ministry of Interior – Fred Matiang’i
  3. Ministry of Devolution – Eugine Wamalwa
  4. Ministry of Defense – Rachel Omamo
  5. Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Monicah Juma
  6. Ministry of Youth and Gender – Margaret Kobia
  7. Ministry of Petroleum and Mining – John Munyes
  8. Ministry of Environment and Forestry – Keriako Tobiko
  9. Ministry of Information and Communication – Joe Mucheru
  10. Ministry of Health – Cecil Kariuki
  11. Ministry of Northern Community Development – Peter Munya
  12. Transport and Infrastructure – James Macharia
  13. Ministry of Tourism – Najib Balala
  14. Ministry of Water and Sanitization – Simon Cherugui
  15. Ministry of Lands – Farida Karoney
  16. Ministry of Industrialization – Aden Muhamed



Adan Mohammed
CS, Industrialization and Enterprise Development

Amb. Amina Mohamed
CS, Education

Amb. Monica Juma
Nominee CS, Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Amb. Raychelle Omamo
CS, Defence

Charles Keter
CS, Energy

Dr. Fred Matiang'i
CS, Interior and Coordination of National Government

Eugene Wamalwa
CS, Devolution and ASAL Areas

Farida Karoney
Nominee CS, Lands

Henry K. Rotich
CS, National Treasury and Planning

James Macharia
CS, Transport and Infrastructure Development

Joe Mucheru
CS, Information Communication & Technology

John Munyes
Nominee CS, Petroleum and Mining

Keriako Tobiko
Nominee CS, Environment and Forestry

Mwangi Kiunjuri
CS, Agriculture and Irrigation

Najib Balala
CS, Tourism and Wildlife

Peter Munya
Nominee CS, East African Community and Northern Corridor Development

Prof. Margaret Kobia
Nominee CS, Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs

Raphael Tuju
Nominee CS

Rashid Achesa Mohammed
Nominee CS, Sports and Heritage

Sicily Kanini Kariuki
CS, Health

Simon Chelugui
Nominee CS, Ministry of Water and Sanitation
Total Execution Time content: 0.00018513202667236 Mins Total Execution Time social : 0.0000 Mins

Read Next

Total Execution Time red next: 0.0000 Mins

Search Now